William’s Wisdom

                                        Joe Brfsplk

My old neighbor was a truly philosophical person. When the pastures dried in summer and the grass yellowed and broke-off, I would go seek the advise of William. “Will it ever rain, William??”

Drawing on decades of experience William calmly answered, “Always has…”

Likewise, when the dark dreary days of never ending rain began to drop my spirits into a bottomless pit, I would reach into ol’ William’s reservoir of wisdom. “William”, I would say, “will this rain ever stop?”

He would look kindly at me and, speaking slowly as if to an idiot, answer, “Always has.”

And you know through the long years since, I have found his knowledge to be nearly infallible.

Leave a Reply

