The High Art of Cursing

My Uncle Veston was assigned to teach me not only a couple of curse words but the absolute definitive use of them.  For all of the three summers or so I worked with him hauling freight I practiced the correct usage, pronunciation, inflection and tone.  Uncle Ves would critique my every use of the words until I was I began to be a better curseologist than many old men.  Of course my family realized I would adopt these words and resolved that I be well pepared.

I never realized how words (some of which are not even real words) can carry such an extensive meaning.  The exact same word can bring a sparkle of humor to someone’s eyes…or…reduce a large man to tears of shame…or…precipitate a magnificent brawl.

I pity poor children who lack a member of their family to initiate them into the finer things of life.

Leave a Reply

